Ok, Twitter! I get it! You’re important!

Back in February, I wrote about how much I just don’t get social media. It’s totally beyond my ability, and whenever I try to do anything it typically results in me embarrassing New York Local Tours, and my tears getting all over the keyboard. It’s a total mess, and not a whole lot has changed for me.

Alex, on the other hand, has been crushing social media. This is great for me because it makes our company look real good, and takes that stupid responsibility right out of my incapable hands. We’ve been getting more and more followers, which I’ve been told is good, and it’s all thanks to Alex.

Now comes the hard part- I was wrong about you, social media, and I apologize. We recently got some very good news, and if it weren’t for stupid Twitter and Instagram, we never would have known.

dutch culutreLast night, Alex was checking in on everything, and we saw that an organization called Dutch Culture USA was not only following us, but also promoting our New Amsterdam tour. Cool. We dug a little deeper, and found that Dutch Culture USA is run by the Consulate General of the Netherlands here in NYC, and happens to be the official blog of all things Dutch in America. Very cool. I called them this morning and had a lovely chat with the woman who runs Dutch Culture USA, and she was very excited about our New Amsterdam tour. And now it looks like we are going to give our New Amsterdam Tour for the entire Dutch Consulate. Freaking Awesome. (And intimidating.) If all goes well, they are going to promote all our tours on their site.

None of this would have happened if it weren’t for Alex’s work on our social media sites. This is all super exciting news! Lots of good stuff has happened this week! And, as much as it pains me to say it, we owe a lot of it to Twitter. And Instagram. And Facebook. And all the other dumb Internet based things that my old-man brain just can’t figure out.

