My “New Yorker” Moment

Living in a big city like New York, sometimes the frustrations of everyday life start to get to you. Everything can be fine, but then one stupid little thing gets in your way, and you’ll fly off the handle. Growing up in Maine, that wasn’t really the thing that we did. Everyone was very polite (we are right next to Canada, after all), and if there was an issue, you either worked it out quietly or buried it deep down inside where it would never see the light of day. But in NYC, I have found that every now and then someone will really push it, and for a brief moment I will also lose my cool. I like to call these little episodes “my New Yorker Moments.” It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes, for really very little reason, New Yorkers will absolutely lose their damn mind.

For me, my first New York moment happened when a senior citizen took up the entire stairwell going down into the subway, and I missed my train. I raised a particular finger that I felt expressed my feelings quite eloquently, and immediately felt guilty. Somewhere in Maine, my Mom shed a tear, knowing deep inside that her baby had just become a New Yorker.

So, the other night, I had another moment.

IMG_0823

Who knew?

We went to The Bitter End, a club down on Bleeker Street. As it happens, The Bitter End is the oldest Rock and Roll Club in NYC. Be sure to check out their website and see the acts they’ve had there; they really are very impressive. Acts like those of Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Donny Hathaway, and many others. Getting to play here is no mean feat!

We came to support two of our favorite bands in the city, Fifth of Bourbon, and Orphan Jane. We were so excited that they were going to be playing at such an awesome venue like The Bitter End, and couldn’t wait for a fabulous night of music. But, as Fifth of Bourbon was setting up, some dude was wandering around handing out little noise makers. I didn’t recognize him, and just assumed that he was with a different band that would be playing later that night. I guess he had a garbage bag full of them, cause everyone in the bar received more then one. Now, if you haven’t been in a small area filled with 250 people with noise makers who have no rhythm, it sounds a lot like this.

And I was pissed! Here is this random guy, who is about to ruin the band’s night with a bunch of plastic maracas,  and nobody is telling him to get lost? I could just feel the blood boiling in my veins.

I was contemplating throwing one of the shaky egg things that sound like a salt shaker at his stupid, dumb head, when Fifth of Bourbon took the stage. They made an announcement that the shakers were handed out so that we, the audience, could get involved in the show. I felt foolish. It was totally part of their act, and there was no reason for me to have a little episode.

The rest of the evening was wonderful. Fifth of Bourbon and Orphan Jane were incredible, as always, and the turnout couldn’t have been better. It was just a long day, and maybe I was a little crabby for no reason. Ever the little shakers were fun, and we all got to participate in the show!

IMG_0802

Fifth of Bourbon doing an acoustic set which is very unusual for them!

IMG_0808

The amazing Kathleen Fletcher, crushing it on stage!

IMG_0818

Orphan Jane!

IMG_0822

Jessica Underwood-Varma, or as she is known in her band, as The Girl with No Name, performs with her back-up singers, Kathleen Fletcher (again!), Kimberlee Walker and Cherrye Davis.

 

So, for those of you visiting NYC, if you ever get screamed at for seemingly no reason, just know that its not your damn fault!  Sometimes we, “New Yorkers” have a bad day, and are just looking to take it out on someone. But it’s really not personal. Unless you were a total jerk, in which case, Yes it is extremely personal.  Jerk!

