My Nemesis: Twitter.

Like most people, I have a few skills that I am very proud of. Thanks to my Dad (the best chef I know), I learned the basics of how the kitchen works. Thanks to my almost-brother, Josh Heikkinen (the other best chef I know), I refined those skills because if I screwed up in his kitchen, he would throw raw meat at my face. Gross, but yet a remarkably effective tool for the field of negative-reinforcement. Now when it comes to cooking, I’m not messing around.

I’ve been taking swing classes with the amazing Laurie Shayler at Dance Connection, and as it turns out I’m pretty damned good. Because the gym is the crappiest place on the planet I never actually go there, despite spending the $67 a month that goes toward my membership. With Laurie I found a way to get a little exercise and I love it! I’ve only taken a few classes, but I am proud of what I have accomplished. Now I consider myself a decent dancer.

New York Local Tours has been kicking ass lately, and Alex and I couldn’t be more excited about it! I feel that we have put together a really wonderful product and I stand by our skills as tour guides. We have been getting some exciting attention with Travel and Leisure as well as Food and Wine, which we can’t believe actually happened. Part of me still thinks that it’s all a dream, and that the actual article was written by my Mom about how I’m the smartest, funniest, most handsome guide in the city.

But, then there are the skills that maybe we are not too proud of. For me, its all centered around the internets. Its a language that I just don’t speak. Me and technology don’t see eye-to-eye, and often get into fights which I typically lose. I don’t get Facebook, I don’t understand Twitter, and what the hell is Snapchat? I went on a site called “Mom, this is how Twitter works” and it was way out of my league. Alex pretty much handles all that stuff, because she is much smarter than I am. But, lately, we have been making a serious effort to get the word out there about the work that we do, and its all thanks to our wonderful tech guru and dear friend, Mollie Little.

A couple of weeks ago, I was looking into how we can drive more traffic to our site. From the research that I did, it looks something like this: Step 1: Spend all your time and money re-doing everything on your site. Step 2: __?__ Step 3: Profit! I spent an entire weekend smashing my face against the wall and wresting with the internet thinking that what I was doing was the smartest, most well thought out plan. After two days with many sessions of crying into a cat’s tummy and feeling like a complete moron, it looked like in order for my new plan to work we were going to spend a ton of money. Finally, Alex stuck her head into the room and suggested that before I spend our life savings I contact Mollie. As usual, she was right.

I emailed Mollie my master plan, and I could hear her eyes rolling all the way in Ireland (where she now lives. We miss you!) Her response was some of the best advice I’ve ever been given. She wrote:

“SEO [Search Engine Optimization] is a field riddled with people pumping up their SEO knowledge and trying to sell you their fix, much like the diet industry. They promise results but there’s nothing that beats getting into the gym and sweating, you feel me? If it were that easy every site that wanted attention would rise to the top… as it is everyone that does the minimum (metatags and xml, etc) rises to the “top” but now the top isn’t the top because everyone is doing it.”

Her advice was essentially just do the work. So, as of now, we are going to be constantly updating our site. I’m going to Blog whenever I can. Alex is going to hit Facebook and Twitter hard (because I hate it!). Our website itself will be streamlined and will look fancier and far better than it did before.

So keep an eye out everybody!  If you haven’t yet, we’d love to have you Subscribe to our Blog cause there’s going to be lots more from us in the future.

ALSO: Our 4th Tour, A Crime Tour of the Lower East Side, is just around the corner and we’re super excited about it!

  One thought on “My Nemesis: Twitter.

Comments are closed.

